Rooftops of Arles

“Who else has walked here, on the top of the Roman Arena?” I ask myself.

When I wander in old cities like Arles I can’t help imagining how life was back then, when this city was new. All the love stories and tragedy that must have taken place underneath these rooftops..

rooftops 04
This city in the French provence is so alluring with it’s pale sky and colorful housing. No wonder why van Gogh went here to get inspired. In 1888 he wrote to his brother:

Because I have never had such a chance, nature here being so extraordinarily beautiful. Everywhere and all over the vault of heaven is a marvellous blue, and the sun sheds a radiance of pale sulphur, and it is soft and as lovely as the combination of heavenly blues and yellows in a Van der Meer of Delft. I cannot paint it as beautifully as that, but it absorbs me so much that I let myself go, never thinking of a single rule.

rooftops 06 rooftops 05 rooftops 02 rooftops 01 rooftops 03

 

signature

19 thoughts on “Rooftops of Arles

  1. Pingback: Anguilla, caribbean paradise | Coralynx' Blog

  2. Pingback: le Pont du Gard | Coralynx' Blog

  3. I gotta say that Im lucky to live in this country, rich of culture and full of beautiful ancient architecture. Thank you for sharing this beautiful place! By the way, I love your new theme but I dont know why it always takes me time to run your blog :(, everytime I want to visit, I gotta wait for a long time :(

    Like

    • France certainly is a beautiful place to live. It is so versatile! Just three weeks ago I was walking on the beach on a beautiful sunny spring day while my b.f. was out skiing with his friends just a three hour drive from here. There’s endless places to discover only in this country. Last November I went to Bretagne which I loved!
      I don’t know why it is taking so long to load my new theme, maybe it’s just the posts all together as I upload quite big files, it’s all about the quality ;)

      Like

  4. I was there with you, dad and Fabrice. It was amazing to walk in the footsteps off the great Dutch painter Van Gogh and share the that feeling with you. Your foto’s are beautyful like your are. Love you, Mom.

    Like

    • The south is never too far to come visit again. ;) I should take more photographs of the center of Montpellier itself. It is lovely and you will see that you would like to spend your next long weekend with the family here!

      Like

Leave a comment

